Not Long Now!

Two of eight bunches of grapes that formed weeks before the main lot. There will be an early mini crop with a lot more to follow in due course.

The joys of living in the country. My neighbours are 200-odd ewe lambs. They are 4 or 5 months old, weaned and newly independent. Last night when I went to bed they were a bit noisy. One voice was louder than the rest. From time to time strident bleating penetrated my sleep and eventually I got up to close my window. This morning I realised that the same voice was still bleating. Then I saw that a lamb had her head stuck in the netting fence, not 10 metres from my bedroom window.

I hastened to her aid, but when she saw me coming she whipped her head out of the fence and ran away. As easy as that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.