Waiting for a bus...

It always feels as if the bus will never come but generally it does.
I’m not really very patient at waiting but sometimes it pays off as I discovered yesterday.
On 24 November my Humax FreeSat box suddenly lost contact with its hard drive. This meant I couldn’t watch anything I’d previously recorded or record anything new. I could still use it to watch live TV and I continued to request recordings because it acted as a highlight to things I wanted to watch. After a few days the Humax website showed that they had upgraded the software and certain old TVs were incompatible. They were working on a solution. 
It’s my landlord’s TV but I don’t think it’s particularly old. Certainly it works so he was unlikely to want to replace it just so I could  record programmes!
From time to time I checked whether I could see my recordings and one day I briefly did see them but they disappeared again.
I even gave up checking their website for any update and really assumed that it was never going to work so I tried to convince myself I didn’t need it. But it’s like going back to the dark ages of the 70s...
Yesterday I checked again and it had recorded yesterday’s planned programmes and I had access to all the old ones. True to their word they seem to have fixed it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.