Sunlight

Just catching the steam from the chimneys . Looking towards Ferrybridge now redundant power station. 3 cooling towers have already been demolished 3 to go soon.

 Another well known landmark will be gone for ever. The 2 tall chimneys  you can see and the 6 cooling towers (my Auntie always called them Milk bottles as they resembled old fashioned milk bottles) were what we always looked for on our way back north and we knew we would soon be home and a cuppa was in sight. I can hear the shout now from the kids, "There they are mum, nearly home" after a long drive back from holidays. and even before my own childrens  time, my cousins and myself looked for them too as we neared home.

I just saw this view as we were walking Molly in Newton woods this morning, you can see Fairburn Ings to the left of the picture and knew it had to be my blip for the day. Big scrabble to get my phone out and switch it on before the moment was gone.

After a wet start its not turned out too bad.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.