Dinosaur Eggs

It often seems that my journal is a record of the weather. Back when I joined blip there used to be a statistic section which told me that my journal mentioned 'weather' 92% more than most journals. We don't get those facts and figure now but I bet it would still say the same. The truth is that for a landscape photographer there are two important things, location and weather and the weather will often dictate the location because it's not worth travelling to a good location if the weather's going to be crap. If your in a good location you may go out whatever the weather and bad weather will often give you a great picture.
We've had all sorts of weather today. It started off as bright sunshine, then clouded over and we had a hailstorm. the sun came out as we drove to the supermarket and when we came out it was pouring.

I went out after lunch with the promise of some sun and indeed heading south and west into Poldark country, the sun was blinding. I found my way to Cape Cornwall (see extra) and Porth Nanven and was delighted to see the sun shining on the Brisons, those lovely offshore rocks. I got out of the van and walked towards the beach and all of a sudden, I couldn't see them any more as a rainy squall came in. I retreated to the van and waited while the wind and rain shook the van for ten minutes. It passed and I made my way down to the beach again. It's very difficult walking on these lovely granite boulders and I found myself very uneasy about walking on them, feeling sure that if I slipped I would break a leg or my head or both so I found a point to set up my tripod and took a few shots. I was disappointed to not take full advantage of this super location, but I have to acknowledge my limitations. 

I like the shots I have taken and you can see my updated album here if you'd like to see more.

Coming back home I met another hailstorm before the sun set without much colour. 

Phoebe and Paul and the grands are staying with us for the weekend. The kids are with us in the apartment and Phoebe and Paul are in the Harbour Hotel. We've had a lovely Friday night curry and the kids have hit the sack. It promises to be a weekend of good weather.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.