The second half of life..

By twigs

Some do it tough

I was very surprised to wake up cold at some (still pitch black) time this morning - very cold! Nothing for it but to curl up, snuggle up and go back to sleep. Thinking about it though, I had just come over an alpine pass and I was still a long way from sea level. Needless to say the start to the morning was slow. I woke up, got up, packed up (slowly!) and decided to drive to somewhere where I could be in full sun to have breakfast. About 10kms down the road I found a suitable spot above the shores of Lake Wanaka and enjoyed a very leisurely break. I then set off along the windy road that clings to the edge of the lake before taking an easterly turn and heading away from it.

This shot was taken on the isthmus between Lake Wanaka and Lake Hawea. There is a spot on the road where, if you stop and look east, you'll see Lake Wanaka and if you look west you'll see (almost) this view of Lake Hawea. It's a stunning view that leaps into your vision as you drive over this natural divide. I couldn't help but feel that this guy was doing it tough, though he and the many, many other cyclists I've passed today clearly love what they do. I'll take my van any day! Actually, if you look at the wee promontory jutting out into the lake there's a road round there and a campsite which I think I will have to visit next time I'm down here. It looks so peaceful and away-from-it-all)


And the reason there are so many cyclists out and about down here (besides the cycle tourists)? It's 'Challenge Wanaka' weekend - lots of fit people pitting their bodies and minds against the elements and terrain in the hope of achieving personal goals. Many will have been training for months and tomorrow is the big day. I rolled into Wanaka not quite sure what to expect. I was greeted with streets heaving with people, road closures and diversions, queues for almost everything - not what my holiday is about at all. Having just missed making contact with a friend who is here to support a friend doing the Challenge I decided not to hang around . . . . . over the Crown Range Road to Queenstown where I did a little shopping for a few provisions and had a quick look round town then headed little further south.

Tonight I'm staying on the shores of Lake Wakitipu at a glorious wee spot about 5kms north of Kingston. The plan is to make Milford tomorrow, stay in Milford tomorrow night (this may be a challenge) then begin the return journey.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.