I went to Dulwich Picture Gallery for their small Rembrandt's Light exhibition. The oil paintings were fabulous (I wish I had angels to light up my life), the ink drawings were interesting, using paper as light, and the etchings were, unfortunately, too small to see well in the subdued gallery lighting. Those I was able to peer at for long enough were wonderful: hints of forms emerging from the shadows. I like pictures where you have to look properly to see what's there. (Looking large helps.)

Then to Matthew Bourne's Red Shoes at Sadlers Wells. It's a dancers' ballet with exemplars of many different sorts of dance and, I'm sure, references that were way beyond my knowledge of dance. Great fun to watch though - both the skill and the very clever sets. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.