Aerial combat

I'm not strong on bird identification - I think this is a sparrowhawk chased by a rook.

I often see the local rooks harrying buzzards and hawks, but I was surprised at the persistence of this one. I watched them for a couple of minutes, and they were still manoeuvring as they disappeared into the distance. At one point it looked as if the sparrowhawk had lost patience and was chasing the rook. I didn't see them touch, but in one photo the rook is only a couple of inches from the sparrowhawk's tail.

This is right at the limit of my camera, with a 150mm lens, a 1.4x teleconverter, cropped by a factor of 3, and processed by Topaz Sharpen AI. If I've done the maths right, that is equivalent to the field of view of a 1260mm lens. Amazing that there is any detail to see at all!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.