South Coast Scribblings

By SueSouth

Just finished

I have been reading this book over the past few days. I found it on the bookshelves at the hairdresser where they sell books in aid of charity. It particularly interested me as it was about a woman called Evelyn Ryan who had ten children and who earned prizes and money by entering slogan competitions run by various brands in the U.S. - and my own Mum spent many hours working on such competitions and referring to manuals that helped with writing slogans that would win. My Mum won a number of things, including a fridge freezer which lasted for years! She also won £500 on Spot the Ball - a shared first prize. She resented not winning outright and getting the full amount, I remember!! It was still a lot of money for us in the 1960’s. I remember how hard she worked on the competitions and Evelyn Ryan spent far more time even than Mum did! Such an interesting book, written by one of her daughters.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.