Life begins

By Dino

Sangria

Living in Spain has made me a bit of an expert when it comes to Sangria. I thought I would pass on some of my wisdom to my little sister. So these are the simple rules I passed on to Lisa.

1) Never, repeat, NEVER, order sangria from a Guiri bar. It always leads to disappointment.
2) Tinto de Verano is NOT Sangria and should be politely declined if offered as a substitute.
3) Only take a little of the fruit from the jug in your glass. It's much better to leave it in the jug and eat later!
4) Never, repeat NEVER, allow women to pour their own glass. More to do with preventing spillage than being chivalrous (and with my family it's to ensure you actually get a bit!).
5) If you still possess the power of speech after downing a few jugs, never return to that bar for Sangria again.

I had a quick taste test of Lisa's sangria. Rule 1 was proven unanimously. The smile turned to a scowl. The familiar look in the eye. A mix between pure evil and wicked intent. I was to be punished for my temerity. She reached for my beer and downed it in one. Half a pint! So an addition to the rules:

6) Never taste test Lisa's Sangria without finishing your drink first.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.