Its the Way It Is

By Jeano

Serendipity

No work today and we had glorious weather here in North Wicklow/Dublin.

8am swim in zero degrees temperature. The 10 minutes before dawn were spectacular and then when Her Worship emerged over the horizon, it was just breath taking.

Played 3 sets of tennis in pleasant conditions then managed to ease my housework conscience by throwing a duster around the house for 10 mins or so.

And then something serendipidipashus happened. I had a large bag of clothes for the Irish Cancer Shop in Dun Laoghaire but decided at the last minute to donate them to another charity shop (which I never go into). I walked in the door and met a friend who I haven’t seen in years.

Ah Brigid how are you.
Grand
And you Jean
Grand - not a bother
So good to see you
(Big hugs)
What are you doing with yourself these days Jean?
I am still working
Ah you’re not still working Jean - sure I retired 2 years ago
Sigh
Sigh
Retirement is great Jean - there aren’t enough hours in the day I am so busy
Sigh (from me)
I have started a Writers Group Jean and we meet weekly. It’s fun and there are short story writers, pets, novel writers and screen writers.
Oh I love the sound of that Brigid.
Jean would you consider joining us?
I would love to.
Well that’s settled. Have you time for coffee Jean?
Yes I certainly have.

This was pure serendipity - as I was thinking of developing my writing skills around plot and grammar etc. and had considered joining a group such as this. And an invitation presented itself to me out of the blue.

And speaking of out of the blue. My blip is of a lovely walk down Dun Laoghaire Pier this afternoon after coffee with Brigid. It was approx 10 degrees and very pleasant.

I have had a lovely day today

My extra was taken at 0802hrs today just before sunrise

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.