WITH A SONG IN MY HEART

By lizzie_birkett

Garden Design

I've felt a bit unsettled today so I've been jumping from one thing to another. 

I've been thinking about the garden and what a mess the end part of it looks. (I forgot to Blip it in daylight!)
I'm trying to persuade Frank to sell his trailer :-\ The thing under the big white bag is a circular saw which he is actually getting rid of. Then there is the wheelbarrow which we don't really need in such a small garden and the big brown bin which needs to go back the council.
The decking was there when we moved in 15 months ago. It is horrible and really slippy and will all be lifted. That's when all the hard work will begin because the ground will need to be levelled and as the garden is on a slight slope a step will need to be made down to the nice part we did last year. Also we need new fences. Frank said he's not starting anything till there's a plan in place. (Hmmm...I bet he didn't think I'd start right away! :-D

In between thinking about the garden I did a bit of my stitching. I was having trouble getting the dog's front legs right so spent some time unpicking. I'm too much of a perfectionist and try to be a bit looser.

Bella May was a bit sulky because she only got a short walk with me this morning. Frank was on and off the phone for about 3 hours trying to sort out the insurance claim and recovery for the car, taking photos and sending them and getting a courtesy car sorted. 

Bella had another walk later and then reluctantly went in the shower. She smells of sweaty socks when she's needing a wash!
She's such a clever dog - I teach her lots of words which she really understands and I'm getting her to sit at the kerb and look right and left - I don't know if it was coincidence but twice today when she sat at the kerb she looked left!
I've also taught her 'Wipe your feet Bella', and she does a complete circle on the big doormat:-D. It's just like teaching kids and I get real buzz when she gets the hang of something new.

PS When I was little my favourite toy was Britain's Floral Garden Set - does anyone remember it? They are now collecters items. I wish I'd kept mine - not to sell but I could have played around with it to design our garden!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.