Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

Mont Saint Michel in Seattle

This relief model was made from wood, cardboard, paper and silk in the late 17th century and given to Louis XlV in  1709 by the monks that made it! It lives in Paris at the Musee de Plans-Reliefs .   And it’s here in Seattle!  at MOHAI ( museum of history and industry) to view,  it’s been digitally preserved with Microsoft AI and the new Hololens 2, if you’re lucky enuf to get to do that.   ( there are only 4 devices , lasts 15 min, and one has to be over 15 and reserve a place once at the museum.   ).  We drove home by noon in the wind and rain from Port Townsend , grateful that the two days we were there were much better weather, .... it was our day to pick up Fiona and I wanted to see this...having spent time there years ago.    We got to the museum at 3:00 and they only had one slot left so I was the lucky one.    Boppa and Fiona enjoyed the rest, and she took photos of me and I of her.... with an interactive screen that shows all around the real thing and the model.   Of course I wanted to take a photo of the hologram I was seeing....silly me.   It showed  much of the interior, some of which has been changed and one was IN the abbey 360degrees.  Very cool.     Hard to explain. But there are some short videos on the website I will try to link that will show it and what it took to make....seems like a great idea to preserve old works of art.  
   I always love this view of the city going back to the car.   At home there was good progress on Fi’s book about 3 sisters and a very  theatrical reading of it so far... and pizza. 

https://mohai.org/exhibits/mont-saint-michel/

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.