Scrawny Old Man

By richtoller

Snow day for a run

We weren't going to be there at all - but we decided we didn't fancy getting up early to go up Glen Lyon for a hillwalk in this weather (apologies to Dave for wimping out and not making our intentions clear). So we went to parkrun.
On Wednesday I had jabs for diphtheria, tetanus, polio, meningitis and flu (3 needles not 5) and yesterday it was yellow fever's turn, and Mrs RT reckoned I shouldn't run with that lot swooshing round my system. Not sure whether she didn't want me on Oprah Winfrey with my drugs confessions or just wanted to finish one place higher.
So I took my camera and here's running machine Craig Love with his usual clear lead at the bottom of the first hill. Runners seemed to enjoy the snow and weren't much slower than usual.
After this I was moving up to take photos of them coming up to the finish, but Tom the run director asked me to do registration at the finish (scanning people's personal and position barcodes) because he thought he was a volunteer short (actually he wasn't - he'd sent out two tail runners - don't ask why). Today's turnout didn't match last week's record 117, but 61 wasn't bad.
When all that was over we had a nice walk in the Sidlaws with our snow shoes.
Snow showers all day. If you biggify you can see it was snowing when I took this.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.