today's another day

By dbrereton

5 years ago today

5 years ago today, I skied down Loze Est in Courcheval, following my 11 year old daughter, as happy as you could be.

Why?

14 years previously I'd ended up snowboarding down the same run, alone, and just 2 months after my mum and dad had died. The enormity of that hit me then for the first time. I'd been busy with arrangements....

I think that was the day my reference points for the world changed forever, and I had to stop and accept it. I was 30 and the oldest person in my family. Probably the lowest I ever felt.

Thankfully with a wonderful wife, who had been through this too, and good friends on our holiday, I was back to being me after 24 hours of what I still can"t describe. Crushing anxiety, despair, darkness....all of that.

So it's a very special picture for me, a place I can see differences, see good and bad, and know that things change.

It reminds me they do.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.