kirstymill

By kirstymill

Heirlooms

This is from my grandmother's wedding china set. I have the whole set, which my grandmother left to me. It's something I treasure. She was married in 1934 so this makes the set 85 years old. It's also very pretty, though with a number of small cracks it's no longer usable.

I have a display cupboard in my kitchen where I keep this set along with what remains of my great grandmother's wedding china. It caught my eye this evening as I was tidying up after dinner so I thought I would try to get a nice image of at least once piece from the set. I love the fact that such simple items connect me to my grandmother and so to the past. They are heirlooms and important for the fact that they symbolise my grandparent's marriage and so my ancestory. They have next to no monetary value, but are priceless to me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.