tempus fugit

By ceridwen

The joy of newspaper

I know that most people read the news on line now, as I do, but I also buy  an actual physical  newspaper once a week on a Saturday. Mainly that's because I like to read while I'm eating and I don't like to drop crumbs  on a book.
More than that, I'd be lost without a pile of newspaper to use for so many many purposes. I'm really not sure how other people manage without. 

These balls of newspaper are what I put in the toes of my wet walking boots which have long lost their waterproofness. The paper absorbs the moisture and stops the leather shrinking. When I take them out I put the paper balls on the radiator to dry off and use them again.

Other purposes for which I find old newspapers invaluable:
-starting fires
-soaking up spillages
-putting under messy jobs such as polishing, glueing, oiling or painting
-wrapping china, glass or other breakables
-drying fruit, mushrooms and herbs on
-lining shelves and drawers (with the added bonus that when you come to renew it you can remind yourself of what was in the papers X years ago which can be very interesting to discover.)
-making pots for seedlings,  see here

If you don't have a pile of old newspapers what do you use for these purposes? Perhaps  you have to buy something designed for the job. I wouldn't know.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.