Views of my world

By rosamund

Meet

Went to my first blipmeet (with people I didn't already know) today. Having 'bumped into' superhero yesterday he extended an invite and since I was dropping Noah at his dad's at 10 it fit in to my day beautifully.

We met at Glasgow Museums Resource Centre at Nitshill and had an excellent morning. It was incredible to be in a place with so many amazing things from a taxidermied 'hare drinking tea' to a collection of old spinning wheels (too high up to blip this time but an excellent venue for a guild visit methinks).

I was fascinated by a cup and ring marked boulder from Langside of all places, I thought it would be from somewhere more mystical and highland than that! The armour collection had all been owned by Robert Lyons Scott (of the shipbuilders) and I was tickled to think of his house in Greenock with a life size bronze horse in the bay window.

I discovered snapseed last night too and have had fun playing with my images this afternoon, one of the boulder, a tiger's head, a mother of pearl inlaid table and this one.

This is the warp wound on the back beam of a loom which I was told was from Templeton's carpet factory. As well as the colours of the yarn I loved the date on the paper which had been used between each turn of the beam - 8th October 1978. It doesn't sound long ago but I was 5 which means it was 35 years ago, my husband was 6 months old and the only interesting fact I could find was that it was John Lennon's 38th birthday, and he was still alive!

I thought there would be a blip race to see who would post first but so far I haven't seen anyone else's shots from today. My wee camera was out playing with the big boys today so I've decided to just go with what I love and decide how to start budgeting to get the camera I really want! (Glad I didn't start the plan I had last year which was to save up using Jessops vouchers!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.