Through a lens darkly

By oojeyboojey

Blue boy

This little lad in Exeter's Princesshay shopping centre is decidedly off colour. However, I can think of one part of his anatomy that is justified in being blue today, given how cold it is out.

If you want the story behind the blue boy, you can read more here. For those who don't like excessive clicking, the plaque on the plinth reads:

THIS STATUE OF A BLUE BOY
STOOD IN THE COURTYARD OF
SAINT JOHN'S HOSPITAL SCHOOL
FOUNDED ON THIS SITE
AS A BLUECOAT SCHOOL
BY THE CHAMBER OF EXETER,
A.D. 1636 IN THE
DISSOLVED MEDIAEVAL HOSPITAL
OF SAINT JOHN THE BAPTIST.
THE SCHOOL CONTINUED UNTIL 1931
IN THE NEW BUILDINGS ERECTED IN 1859
WHICH WERE DESTROYED BY
ENEMY ACTION ON MAY 4TH 1942



I'd like to find his counterparts, which are apparently located in and around Exeter. Maybe it could be part of a personal blip challenge?

I do wish I'd crouched down a bit lower when taking this snap, it only occurred to me when I uploaded the shot. Still, there will be other opportunities!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.