Poppy

By Poppy

Jolly Boat!

When I blipped this wee boat the other day I said it was about six foot long. Another blipper, older and wiser, suggested that it looked longer than that so today, as it was a cold, raw, miserable day and I didn't fancy much of a walk, I went back to the little boat, with a tape measure! Damn and blast and blistering barnacles - it was 10 foot long! Rats!

Himself came with me to help with the procedure, and to keep an eye on his steel rule and, on seeing the rings at either end, the prow and the stern - see, I'm getting good at the terminology! - pronounced it to be a Jolly Boat. These were used on bigger boats and lowered over the side to go on little jollies, or go back to shore, while the bigger boat was at anchor. What a nice name for them! I have always liked this little old boat, and now I like it even more!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.