Messing with nature

and getting in a tangle.

I was'nt getting on with On Beauty by Zadie Smith, & had brought another book with me - The Bolter by Frances Osborne ... Took that back up to bed with my early morning cuppa ..... Nope! Not for me! I need a book so with that in mind I put some money in my camera case when Millie & I set out for our morning explore. The other thing on my mind was today's Abstract Blip with the subject Nature set by Ingeborg. I thought I would find a blip somewhere in Cockington Country park. It was relatively quiet we walked part of the John Musgrave Trail then headed into the woods, an area I had'nt explored before so I asked  someone exercising their dog as to where the various tracks lead. I could hear plenty of birdsong & the tap tap tapping of a woodpecker but could'nt spot it. Millie, a labrador, was in her element sniffing about in the woods. Unfortunately she has a nasty habit of eating mud and sticks.  Tinker!! We eventually came back down by the ornamental lakes. The Gunnera leaves collapsed with the frost reminded of a battlefield, very spooky & eerily weird. The camellias are showing some colour, being that bit further on being near the coast. We left the park and crossed the road into the path through the water meadows arriving at the seafront. Tide was low so we headed down onto Livermead sands, Millie knew the way. I picked up a few bits of plastic, some strips of lacing, a disposable  lighter & a piece of electrical plastic gubbins before coming across this tangle of Bladder Wrack seaweed & nylon rope. After a  few snaps I untangled it, popped the rope in my pocket along with the other rubbish. Walked along the seafront then up Walnut road. I needed, well maybe not needed, okay needed a packet of biscuits. Millie waited patiently outside the Coop while I nipped in. Next stop Ella's Cafe Lounge, Millie was allowed in so I ordered a coffee, then had a quick browse at their book selection. Erm!!!! None of them really appealed to me, then I spotted The Noble Path by PeterMay . I recognised the name from Blipfoto entries, read the synopsis, if that's the correct word, on the back cover. Sounded interesting so Rowcroft Hospice got my £1.50. Good coffee for £2 as well. There were a few customers when I arrived, the cafe filling as I left at lunchtime. Another coffee/ food takeaway opening shortly down the road, not an eat-in though so hopefully wont affect Ella's business. I'd built up quite an appetite with all that walking, I virtually demolished a tub of hummus with a couple of toasted folded flatbreads.. Mmmmm! Yummy!  I had a browse through the recently uploaded blips from other members while lunching. I read DonnaWannas Abstract Thursday blip, then did a search for the seed pod. I think I may have id'ed it. Strangely enough I collected a few seed pods and other bits & bobs as momentos during our visit to Australia back in 2002, the seedpod looked familiar, sadly left behind in Thailand.  I really enjoy seeing what everyone is up to, where they live, their pets, pastimes etc.

This afternoon, I sorted out car insurance for my Aygo, & deleted a few photos while Millie snored away in her bed. I spotted another Goldcrest today. It was working its way through a potted hardy Chrysanthemum plant on the terrace. It barely kept still long enough for me to get a decent photo, especially through the glass. Oh yes! What was the first animal I spotted on arrival yesterday ... a squirrel. Not a real one though. There's a selection of bird feeders hanging outside so I checked them out and their contents. I've spotted Blue tits, Dunnocks, & a Robin visiting, plus a couple of doves & Jackdaws clearing up on the ground beneath.

I bought a pack of Becks Blue non alcoholic beer to sample. It's okay. Not as good as a glass of cider but better than a glass of water. #dryjanuary continues.

Time to light the woodburner in the lounge, & make dinner. Millie has already made herself comfy in front of the fire so I guess I'd better get to it.

Devastating fires in Australia, Coronavirus in China, everyday there are fresh challenges.

Today is 2020 International Holocaust Remembrance Day. .............

Life is so precious.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.