Don't Touch

the guard rail, please...

more discombobulation after a day of fatigue and stomach flu...

the dinner was good though and Ermanno took good care of me to bring me back towards the living...

first plate
fresh tagliatelle cut very thin by Ermanno in capon broth

second plate from the frying pan
a slice of turkey breast with a slice of "first salt" Parmesan cheese
a green salad with virgin olive oil and white vinegar

third plate... The tagliatelle put me back on the good road and I was feeling warm and flush again all the way to my toes by this point...

I said, maybe a bit of your ice cream with strawberries...
Ermanno said, a bit of my ice cream 'wetted' with whiskey to bolster your health...

And so, my desert - as I have invented and baptized and should probably patent - was soon on call.

Ermanno's home-made ice-cream with his chopped almond brittle on a side plate to the right and a bottle of our 22 y.o. sherry cask-aged  Speyside  whiskey to the left...  - only to mix to your desired perfection. 

And so by the time my espresso arrived, I was very bolstered both in spirits and health!  The only thing left was to drive the 15 minutes through obscure, twisty and dark country lanes to my bed and breakfast on a high hilltop overlooking the plains of Reggio-Emilia.

And that, my friends, is how my daily photo was taken - window down, cold in my face, divided attention, weak with the flu, and strong with the spirit, and determination come whither... 

I did not touch the guard rail!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.