All change

After many days of woodworking it was time to change to metal work.
Today’s jobs were the boom end fitting on the left and the gammon iron on the right.
I have left the gooseneck in the boom end fitting to show how it fits together, the upstand with the hole is for the shackle that holds the bottom of the sail. I need to make another one of these for the mizzen boom.
The gammon iron fits on the end of the bowsprit to stop it splitting and also to carry the eye bolt for the forestay. It is called a gammon iron but it is actually made of bronze. I found a piece of what I thought was brass in my Dad’s box of metal bits, but when I started to machine it I realised it was bronze. However the little lathe managed ok provided I didn’t try to take too big a cut.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.