New Year's Resolution No.1

Every day I add two slides to my On This Day In History Google Slide. One slide explains an event from this day in history (copied and pasted from The History Channel), and the next slide features a photograph illustrating that story. I have shared this with the children in my class. I also add a single sentence summary of that story to a spreadsheet timeline from 3,000 B.C.E. to the present day. This is also shared with the children so that they can better understand the things they learn about in a historical context. Ancient history, or even recent history, is very difficult for children who have only been alive for eight years to conceptualise.

On this day in history, the world's largest diamond, the Cullinan diamond, was found in 1905.

The Pink Panther

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.