Trelleborg Viking Fortress

It is a while since I have walked dogs at the old Viking Fortress Trelleborg, but today I was going to Slagelse to buy guinea pig food at a pet show, that I had a gift voucher for. 

Trelleborg is located just outside Slagelse, so I started in the training hall and then I drove to Slagelse to buy the food and we finished with a walk at Trelleborg. 

Trelleborg is a circular fort, built by the Vikings in 981 AD. It excavated in the years 1936-1941. Traditionally, the name Trelleborg has been translated to 'a fortress built by slaves', since the Old Norse word for slave was thrall (The modern Danish word is træl) and borg means fortress or city.

It is an amazing place - so beautiful and you can almost feel the history in the air. It is fascinating to try to imagine the vikings, who lived there...


Happy weekend
Emmy and the Hazyland Boys

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.