Reconnaissance

Today I ran the last leg in the Devil's Burdens relay race in the Lomond Hills, south of Falkland. This year they changed the format completely. Rather than the four legs going round and over the hills, with three changeover points and all the fun of car logistics and bad parking in the local villages, it was all based in a field outside Falkland, with the first three legs going up into the hills and back. I had the "orienteering" leg, in which five checkpoints in the nearby forest had to be visited in any order: a format I've never encountered before in hill running or orienteering. Since I had about 3.5 hours to wait before I started, I had plenty of time to do a reconnaissance. [Yes, orienteers, it was permitted] This allowed me to take this photo from inside c.25m Tyndall Bruce Monument. This was my final control, and not the hardest I've ever had to find! Thus I think I found the best route for me, and only had to follow it in the race. Orienteers will be amused to know that they had put out two controls on similar features without any codes to distinguish them: one was on my leg, and the other was on a different leg!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.