Anne's Daily Encounters

By dutchdelight

Souvenir from Java

Thought of naming her "Aphrodite from Java" but the lady who owns her (one of mams friends for life) never thought of her souvenirs in that respect; she's got her as a Javanese Beauty ~ what's with her for more than 65 years now.

Today I went to see this friend of my mam, an "auntie" for me and my relatives, who is a lady of 92 years of age nowadays. She didn't manage to attent mam's farewell service last month and I'd promissed her to pay her a visit instead... today that was.

She's almost blinded, but fortunately fully fit mentally! And so we talked of the past, of long times ago and of recent. To my surprise she told me that her eldest son died a year ago and she did that so factfully, so fully in control of her emotions.
I know her as a very composed lady; accepting events in life as inevitable and thus taking them in and getting on with her life.... That she showed me again when telling me in between lines of her son's passing away and I wonder if this is a reminder of her teenage years spent in war-times when one had to keep up a stiff upperlip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.