Friday Foto

By drmackem

Singing my song again.

The miseducation of….
 
A photo
The keys
 
A musing
Sabbath for me is a time to remember the song that is my life. 
You see I'm inclined to be forgetful.
Without the pause, the noticing, the drawing aside, the correct attention, I’m inclined to go out of tune, lose my rhythm, start singing someone else’s song, or worse, sing what I think others think my song should be.
Today has been a day for finding my song again.
 
A Tune 
Perhaps to give balance to my bemusing love of skiffle, punk and soul, the now mrsmackem bought for me the Christmas of our first year as a couple an LP of piano tunes by Rachmaninov. Specifically, Rach’s 2nd Piano concerto in Cminor (why say cimor when he doesn’t have a first or a third concertos in C Minor?).
Therapy and genius played their part in the genesis of this piece. Rachmaninov after his poorly received 1st Piano Concerto in F sharp minor (see what I mean), became depressed and took to psychotherapy and hypnosis. What is most notable in this story is the notion that from the ashes of the despair of ourselves can emerge something more beautiful than came before.
Today’s tune is the 2nd movement, as it is the most mellow, the 3rd movement has too many notes and piano bashing for my sabbath tune.

Rachmaninov Piano Concerto played by Vladimir Ashkenazi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.