Mid-battle

We left Fidelis Avenue early; before 0930. Even so, there was plenty of traffic, fortunately not so much that there were blockages. Late this afternoon, I went out to buy provisions for tonight's meal, and at the same time, I went to Western Springs Lake.

For a short time I thought I had been lucky and seen a goldfinch. However, it turned out to be a juvenile chaffinch. I spotted one of the young weweai (dabchick). Very obviously a great deal smaller than the adults, so all my recent sightings have been of adults. Enjoyed getting some nice action shots such as when it darted away from a hostile greylag goose.

As I turned to head away, I saw some very turbulent water about 50m out into the lake. A Karuhiruhi (Pied shag)burst back above the water before heading downwards again. I spent the next three minutes watching a fight for life, as the karuhiruhi attempted to subdue and swallow a large eel. I suspect the eel escaped death, even though at one stage it was all but swallowed (see extra). 

Not long after that photo was taken, the karuhiruhi was trying to retain control of the head. The eel was able to wind most of its body around itself, and/or the karuhiruhi, making it very hard for the bird to subdue the fish.The last photographs were of the karuhiruhi as it was starting to head out into the centre of the lake; out of sight and camera range.

The main photo today is early in the effort of the bird to contain the head of the fish and prevent the eel from inflicting serious harm on its attacker.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.