The Shetland Bus

Granny and GrandBob are visiting so Mr HPW and I went out for a lovely Chinese meal (very spicy in an attempt to zap my new cold - not totally successfully) and then to see a concert as part of Celtic Connections.

It was the story of Jan Baalrud narrated with music composed by sisters from Shetland. This was a new arrangement with the six-piece band being joined by the National Youth Brass Band of Scotland. It was pretty impressive.

The support act, Realta, are from Norn Iron and played very lovely whistles and uillean pipes accompanied with guitar and mandolin.

I also picked up a leaflet about traditional music lessons. I'm considering actually learning to play the piano accordion I've had in the cupboard for nigh on 20 years.

I'm pretty tired now though - lemsip and bed, I've another gig tomorrow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.