The Most Expensive Wood Stove... Ever

I picked up this stove today for an amazingly cheap price. The seller had it listed on one of our local classified websites and clearly didn't realise the demand for Crown Wood Stoves. I could put it on eBay today and easily double my money...but I won't. No, this one will get a makeover and I'll probably press it into service again. Unlike a lot of my other stoves, this one is virtually complete.

So, why the title Most Expensive Wood Stove? Well I went to pick it up with my mate Ross and the trailer in tow. Ross had also purchase an antique stove so we did a round trip to pick both up. I decided to drop Ross and his stove off first (he lives just 2 streets away from us).

I opened the back of our station wagon to see where the trailer was going while reversing it under his high set house. Well the back door connected with his house. It bent it out of shape and now I can't close the boot. So I got onto the insurance company and put in a claim. After I have paid the $600 excess on the repairs and added that to the cost of the stove, it will definitely be the most expensive stove in my collection. It did take a bit of the shine off the excitement of buying the stove.

Ah well, shit happens.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.