Bom

By Bom

Tufty Fluffytail

Ok so it's not THE Tufty Fluffytail, but one of the Red Squirrels being bred at Pensthorpe as part of a conservation programme. I'm amazed I got this photo as they're normally tearing around towards the back of the enclosure, but this one came forward, paused very briefly and I quickly pressed the shutter without even framing the shot.

Whenever I see Red Squirrels I can't help thinking of Tufty as I was a proud member of the Tufty Club as a kid. For the benefit of younger blippers, Tufty Fluffytail was RoSPA’s iconic red squirrel who was instrumental in helping millions of children to learn about road safety from the 1950s-1990s. At its peak, over 2 million children were members of the Tufty Club according to the RoSPA website. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.