pollyrock

By pollyrock

Anniversary of the liberation of Auschwitz

I have gone against the rules today (I hope Admin don't mind) and posted a photograph taken not today, but last September.  It is of a remaining cattle wagon used to transport people to Auschwitz Berkenau.  If you open the picture you can make out in the distance the grim ionic gateway with the railway running through. It shows how immense the place is.  My visit will  stay with me for ever and I implore everyone to go if they can, as awareness surely can help ensure that this never happens again and to remind humanity of what horrors we're capable of. Apologies for the sombre topic but I felt it important to mark the 75th anniversary of the liberation of Auschwitz. Thank you

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.