Cemitério

Technically, can a cemetery be abandoned? If it can, this one along one of Maputo’s main avenues, is. It’s creepy, litter-strewn, looks like a fire has ripped through it, and reeks of urine. My pal Luís said that when he was a teenager the local goths used to gather in this spot. I understand the dyed black hair and at a very big stretch the music that sounds like a wolf attack, but do goth hangouts have to be in one of the worst spots in the city? Can’t goths assemble in a pleasant park?

I got back from the gym at the exact moment a power cut struck. I lit some candles wispily like people do in movies when they’re preparing for a bath, only in my case I couldn’t wash because there is a water pump that relies on electricity. I ate cold food with a head torch and the lights eventually came on so I could cleanse before bed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.