The Three Faces of Eve

I had just put out some peanuts, and was frying up a few strips of bacon in my kitchen.

Out of the corner of my eye...I saw a little downy woodpecker. and this petite nuthatch named Eve. Eve was close...on my birdfeeder.

A cooking decision followed. Do I leave the bacon, and shoot the bird? Or...do I watch the bacon, and let the bird go? I asked myself..."What would Martha Stewart do?" If she wasn't in jail...I think Martha would go for the camera. So I did...crispy bacon it would be.

This is the closest the nuthatches have let me get. Even though I was shooting through a slightly opened window...Eve was about a foot and a half away. A fearless wee one...that's what she is.

The bacon was good...the gravy from the bacon was delicious...and the nuthatch was in the books. Eve...you can now leave. Call me naive...but...I believe... I could get her to land on my sleeve. Then...who knows...I might find out that Eve is a Steve. Regardless...still cute.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.