Saying 'Goodbye'

700 people joined together to say 'goodbye' to my brother, Malcolm, aged 80.  The hymns we sung were 'How Great Thou Art', and 'Bless The Lord O My Soul'.  The eulogy of his life was read, with siblings, children and grandchildren all taking part.  Many happy memories were revealed.

We went to the Hamilton Lawn Cemetery for the burial.  Then began the hunt for my parents grave, which I remember being near a tree, (but which one!).  Eventually we found the tree, and this blip is of those descendants of our parents/grandparents who took part.  We did have bunches of lavender from Wanaka, which we placed on the grave (extra).

We then had a cuppa at a local restaurant, where I met up with many friends from over 25 years ago.  Didn't have time to chat to them all in length, which was a shame.  

We all went back to Raglan where we had a shared meal, and a debrief.  We all thought my brother would have loved to have been there!  Into bed at 11 p.m.  What a wonderful day

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.