Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Wednesday Outing

I am feeling pretty much back to my normal self so we decided to do our Wednesday lunch date and walk at Camden which is about an hour's drive away.    We had a great lunch at a small mom and pop comfort food diner I found when Googling restaurants in the area.   They probably did not have seating for more than forty-fifty people but they sure moved some people in and out.  The food was a buffet so there was no waiting unless one wanted to order off the menu.     

After lunch we headed to Goodale State Park for a short walk and photo opportunities for me.   Jerry got a phone call as soon as we started walking that he had to take so I moseyed on down to the lake.  The sky was blue when we got there but it grayed up with cloud cover soon.  So glad I got some photos of the cypress tree reflections before the gray happened.    I spotted a man fishing so I wandered over to where he was and struck up a conversation ( I am not shy!) about fishing.    He was a little shocked I think that a strange white woman would speak to him (a black man)  in the middle of nowhere.  He was a little hesitant to talk but that only lasted a few seconds as I just kept my mouth going with questions.    Anyway, we had a great conversation for about 20 minutes while Jerry finished up his call.  He told me he had the day off from work so he went to fish just to be outside. My kind of person!     He also told me he caught a four foot alligator in the pond once!    Yikes!   I go here all the time with the dog and let her swim!!!   He did say that he was sure the rangers had caught the gators and moved them to another location as they were eating turtles and turtle eggs and the baby geese.     But I will be on the lookout next time I go just in case.    When Jerry finished his call he came over and another fishing conversation started!!    

A black and white photo of him is in the extras.   I played with this b/w so that it would not be so gray after the clouds moved in.   Also a b/w shot of some geese that flew over while we were talking.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.