Kila

The second half of January can only mean one thing - it's Celtic Connections time again! This festival runs every January, into the start of February, in Glasgow, and showcases some of the finest Celtic and world music around. We go every year to several gigs; we're going to fewer this year (only 4, instead of the 7 or 8 we usually manage) but it's always something to look forward to in the depths of winter, and it's a great way to spend any Christmas money :)

Last night we went to our first gig of the festival at the ABC in Sauchiehall Street, we'd not seen either band who were playing so it was a bit of a punt, but I think that's one of the joys of the festival. The support act were Scottish band Manran, who despite being without their main guitarist and singer due to Norovirus managed to put on a great set I thought, with a stand-in guitarist who joined them with just 2 hours of practice, and also singer Kathleen McInnes singing one song. I thought they were great, Pete was less taken with them, but I'd definitely see them again. The lead act were this lot in the photo, Irish band Kila. I had at least heard of Manran before (which was what prompted me to take the risk of getting the tickets), but Kila were completely new to me. They play a fusion of trad Irish music and world music, and are celebrating their 25th anniversary this year. The guy 3rd from left playing the bodhran honestly reminded me of Animal from the Muppets, he was prowling the stage and playing the bodhran like I've never seen it played before! We both liked this band, although by the end I found them a bit trippy. I did think though that they are the type of band that would go down a storm at Womad (another festival we quite often go to, down south).

A good start to Celtic Connections 2013 for us then. Next gig, Thursday!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.