First Peer Review Meeting of 2020

I managed to get through almost all the work that was identified (at the morning "handover" meeting) as being for today by the time I needed to leave to cycle the relatively short distance from the unit to Newmarket. A pleasant ride.

And then I realised I was heading to the other place in Newmarket where we have met a good number of times, and I had no idea where this new (to me) place was. Tried the phone; and found the address and even a map. But when I pushed the request to show my route, i had a fail message. It seems I haven't turned on direction finding. And I wasn't about to try to do that while on the side of a busy street with a cycle helmet on. (I can't explain why wearing a cycle helmet prevented me from attempting a probably simple task).

So I stopped at a shop and asked for directions. Willingly given and simple to follow. Only to discover that the street he had suggested was Osborne Street was called something else. As he had been so definite I went on down that street, and found Osborne Lane and tootled down to the CandyShop. 

Got off. Parked the bike. Got my bags and stuff and crossed the road to take a photo. This photo. Went back and tried the door. Locked. Looked through the windows, and saw a deserted cafe. Rang one of my peers, and got told that it was all very straightforward. 

The entry is not in the front door. Its around the back, and indeed the main part of the evening restaurant is across the lane behind the "front", where I had first gone. One of the situations where once you know, it's very straightforward.

A good evening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.