An Impressionist View of Sunrise

A tribute to Vincent Van Gogh's Starry Night.

"I dream my painting and I paint my dream." - Vincent Van Gogh.


I shot this morning view through our bedroom window, just as the sun was rising through the trees outside.

Droplets of condensation on the window created a pointillist effect: each drop reflecting one or more tones, the yellow of the sunrise, the deep blue of winter snow.

Some of the droplets had traveled down the window pane, creating what resembled trees inside the glass. Tree shapes outside, tree shapes inside.

My husband and I had slept in this room, and our breathing created the condensation on the window.

I like the thought of us sleeping quietly there, wrapped in warm blankets and each other, dreaming sweet dreams, our breath creating unintentional art.

The blues and yellows and swirling shapes in this shot reminded me of Van Gogh's Starry Night. So I'd like to dedicate this photograph to the artist Vincent Van Gogh, whose paintings and words have always inspired me, especially his sunflowers.

The song to accompany this picture is Don McLean's haunting tune, Vincent (Starry Starry Night).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.