hello

I was given a pot of wee narcissi by a friend at work today, which made me happy.

And I'm writing this on my laptop, which Mr ComputerFixer can't fix, but at least now the screen isn't black and it's working for the time being. I just have to ignore the flickering graphics. He wouldn't let me give him anything for the diagnostics or cleaning. Top guy :-)

Work was surprisingly busy today, which I like. When I left, there was an 80th birthday party (afternoon tea for 18 people) in full swing.

I've probably blipped this poem before, but its good enough for a repeat performance:

Sometimes - Sheenagh Pugh

Sometimes things don't go, after all,
from bad to worse.  Some years, muscadel
faces down frost; green thrives; the crops don't fail,
sometimes a man aims high, and all goes well.

A people sometimes will step back from war;
elect an honest man, decide they care
enough, that they can't leave some stranger poor.
Some men become what they were born for.

Sometimes our best efforts do not go
amiss, sometimes we do as we meant to.
The sun will sometimes melt a field of sorrow
that seemed hard frozen:  may it happen for you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.