Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

Up for the Cup!

I was having a look at one of my childhood books when this old newspaper cutting fluttered out from the pages.  I have no idea why I kept it other than because it was a good win for my team, and I had a vague idea of the date from the names of the players that I recognised.  A bit more research revealed it was from a match on 26th November 1966 in the 1st round of the FA Cup when Middlesbrough beat Chester 5-2 at Chester.  Sadly, it wasn't the start of a long cup run as we beat York 4-1 in a second replay in the 2nd round, but then went down 2-0 to Mansfield in the third.  It was the start of a successful season though, as the team ended up winning promotion at the end of the season.

This was clearly from the local paper, the Evening Gazette, as the other results were all from local games.  If any local blippers are interested, the other results shown were:

Manchester United 5, Sunderland 0
South Shields 1, Workington 4
Bishop Auckland 1, Blyth Spartans 1
Shrewsbury Town 5, Hartlepools United 2
Darlington 0, Stockport County 0

I bet that last one was a gripping match.....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.