tempus fugit

By ceridwen

Above and below

A splendid morning for a long walk. I  wound my way along a network of old lanes and tracks dipping down to cross and follow the little river running down a deep wooded valley below Carn Ingli, seen here though a tracery of birch and hazel branches, before striking up to the skirt of the mountain itself. Leafy paths became grassy tracks but both included boggy bits that had to be squelched through or hopped across via slippery stones. 
I kept my eyes not on the angels' rock but on the ground where  scarlet elf cups,  white-fanged dog lichen and russet birch bark grabbed my attention.
I reached the village in time for a coffee but when I emerged from the cafe to catch my bus I found that the angels above had opened the heavens and released a rain storm. Perfect timing!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.