Lemons and Lies

Bit of a grey day again - I don't mind, but it does mean our batteries don't get charged... 

We only planted this lemon tree last year, and it's still only about 80cm tall, but full of small lemons; the red are hot peppers that a neighbour gave us.

Finished a novel Jan and Keith left here for us, How to Stop Time, by Matt Haig. Really enjoyed reading it, and stayed up too late doing it... Been thinking a lot about the 8th of Jordan Peterson's 12 Rules: "Tell the truth, or at least don't lie", so this quote in the book from Montaigne struck me:

I speak the truth not so much as I would, but as much as I dare, and I dare a little more as I grow older.

Even here on Blip, I try to at least not lie, but telling the whole truth is not easy, for many reasons.

Anyway, Cecílio and Ermelinda coming for dinner, so gotta go.

Gratefuls:
- good books that make you think, and good friends that give them to you
- the way trees grow and give fruit, with minimal or no help (we watered this through the summer)
- our electricity lasting so far, and candles and a wood fire if it goes

By the way, you stop time by stopping being ruled by it, according to the book.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.