Snow showers

Backblip,
I woke up during the early hours of the morning and felt really strange. The room and everything in it was completely spinning around even when I was laying down. I tried to sit up and still the room span around. I managed to get back to sleep but I was still ‘spinning’ when I woke up again. I managed to sit up , sip some water and take some paracetamol. After about 15 minutes it cleared but I did not fancy walking down the stairs to have breakfast so stayed in the room.Mike brought me some cereal and fruit juice and then I felt ok thank goodness and we were able to go out :)
We went for a drive down Glen Feshie and stopped at the Uath Lochans.The water was so still when we arrived with amazing reflections, beautiful trees all around.We went for a wander round the Lochans, birds singing in the treetops and the tiny sound of Goldcrests twittering to each other in the Scots pine.A very peaceful area definitely one we will explore again especially the super bog area that must attract dragonflies etc in the warmer months.
We drove on to Kingussie for some lunch.Not much open at this time of year but a nice cafe called the Sugar Bowl was and we made it just before it closed at 3pm.We had a warming Tomato and basil soup and shared a bacon, Brie and Cranberry panini .
Show showers had started by this time but we wanted to have a look at the birdhide at Insh
Marshes. As we drove past Ruthven Barracks the sun shone through so we stopped and I took some photos of the horses too.
The snow swept past and it was dry at the hides.The feeders were busy with bluetits, coal tits, chaffinch and a woodpecker.
The views from the top of the hide were lovely looking over the wide expense of the marshes to the mountains beyond.
We walked down to another hide where long tailed tits were spotted in the bushes above.
Looking through one of the windows I saw the snow storm approaching with Ruthven Barracks Looking dramatic so we quickly headed back to the car.
We drove back to Aviemore and had dinner in The Winking Owl and then went to see Little Women in the cinema room in one of the hotels. We enjoyed the film although I did find it hard to follow as it skipped back in time and the little women did really look much younger. I did cry a few times and the costumes were amazing, I would love to dress like that ;)
Very,very icy when we came out, a clear starry sky above and down to -2 degrees.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.