Photomuncher's Spot

By photomuncher

Rust revisited ...

... and a little learning.

Allow me a little confessional moment.  I spent the day in good company and resolutely determined to remain upbeat, if only to avoid being downcast by the drift and tenor of wider events.

I had an idea for my blip.  I knew where I could find an abandoned shed on our allotment site.  I got it into my mind I would shoot it in sepia - as a wee experiment.  What could possibly go wrong?  Well, I succeeded in taking the most depressing photo I have ever seen, that's all.  I was ashamed of it when I saw it.

However, on my way to the blip, I re-visited the scene of my rust shot of a few days ago. A blipper had pointed out (kindly) the focus in the original was a little off and suggested HDR adjustments might hold some promise.

Today's blip is the shot I took as it came out of the camera, except I have changed the ratio from 4.3 to 5.7 and cropped a little. The original days ago was shot  wide open at f2.8 on the 45mm prime lens with ISO at 200.  Today's was shot at f11 with the ISO on automatic at 1600 using the 12-50 zoom at 27mm. I also, for the first time ever, popped on the HDR toggle. I had no idea what would happen with it.

I could not believe the difference when I saw the two images. I certainly like the second better, (it's in focus and there is this weird 3D thing going on) but I also love the fact that the blip community got me experimenting - and learning.  Thank you!

I feel so much better to be posting this blip rather than my original idea.  Just to show you what you have been saved - see the extra.

I won't always bang on with this sort of commentary, but indulge me this time, I wanted to share the learning experience.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.