A light for Europe

I'm surprised at how deeply sad I've felt today. I feel for all EU citizens in the UK, and UK citizens living in Europe, whose lives are being blighted by uncertainty about their futures. I'm angry that our freedom to live, love and work in Europe is being curtailed. I regret the potentially lost opportunities to work alongside our European neighbours to address issues such as the climate emergency and loss of biodiversity. I worry about the effects of Brexit on the poorest and most vulnerable in our society.

But at heart I feel more European than English, and that won't change tomorrow. It's time for resistance to all the lies and chicanery - it may take many years but I'm certain we will rejoin the EU eventually and I will do what I can to uphold European values of respect and tolerance while we're away. In the meantime, as the Led by Donkeys guerrilla projection on the White Cliffs of Dover states, This is our star. Look after it for us.'  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.