Log Freuchie

By Freuchie

Goodbye, Shuna (and Dornie)

On my final day at this house-sit we woke up to a light layer of the white stuff, which wasn't enough to affect the road, so, after going up to feed the cats, we set off for the lochside one last time. I'm so glad I caught some blips of Loch Lomond during the week, while the weather was fine, because today was a case of 'Umpteen Shades of Grey'.

Observations from the lochside this morning:

1) Two separate bags of dog poo - one obviously flung in the hope of it landing unseen in the undergrowth, but instead getting caught on a branch and hanging there like a bauble on a Christmas tree; the other obviously deliberately dumped on a tree-stump. Why??? If you go to the bother of scooping up your dog's poo, surely you could be good enough to carry the bag to the nearest bin!

2) On Wednesday I had phoned the National Park office to report two dead sheep, badly decomposed but frozen at that point, on the shore at Manse Bay, so today I wanted to see if they had been removed. I knew, from the interest shown by the dogs, that they hadn't! However, on the way back we met a ranger on his way to deal with the 'corpses' - not a pleasant task, I imagine, but appreciated by me and possibly other walkers.

3) Someone had written 'HELLO TOM' in the snow on one of the little bridges made from old railway sleepers. There weren't any people about. Whoever Tom is, I wonder if he saw the greeting before it melted...


Dornie and Shuna have been brushed and combed for their owner's return from sunnier warmer climes, and I go back to Pookie and Monty's this evening.

NB: Blip taken before said grooming ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.