Silly Saturday: Silly Weather!

I seem to have developed a silly cold over the last 24 hours so my silly nose is running like a silly tap. (Don't worry, it's 4 months since we came back from China so I'm not silly enough to be concerned that it could be coronavirus even though the two poor folk identified with it in the UK are in isolation in the hospital here in Newcastle where I used to work.)

However I decided that a walk in the cold air would help to clear my tubes (and I was right - it did, making me feel much better), and what's more I was treated to this lovely rainbow which lasted for several minutes. This is a stitched panorama photo of it. (Silly me, I've known for a while that there was muck on my camera sensor but I haven't yet got round to cleaning it, and the plain blue sky here showed it up awfully so a lot of cloning out was necessary. Oh, and keeping raindrops off the lens was tricky as I'd not taken my big lens hood with me - how silly.)

Why do I think the weather itself was silly? Well for about half my walk it was spitting on with rain, and yet I couldn't see a dark rain cloud anywhere. There was a bit of hazy (but quite light) cloud behind me when I was taking the photo, so I think it must have been coming from there. And it's blowing a hoolie so I guess the wind might have been blowing rain from some distance. Presumably that's how the rainbow formed too.

(Sadly I didn't find a pot of gold. Better luck next time.)

Many thanks as always to admirer for hosting Silly Saturday.

(The rainbow looks best when viewed large.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.