Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Save those tp holders

Why you ask?   They make excellent little composting rings to put around seeds that you plant in the yard.   My flower beds are wild by nature so I have to be sure where I put my seeds in case a stray weed decides to grow.  I will soon be getting seeds in the ground (these envelopes and baggies here are all gathered seeds from what grew here this past summer) and I use the little rings where I plant.     I have plenty of butterfly weed, some zinnia seeds, cassia (Thanks, Maura!), moonflower, a wild datura looking plant I pulled the seeds from on one of my hikes, passionflower, honesty and the flower seeds that are mixed up in my two jars of seeds.   Those I am just going to pat down in the potting soil on one of the flower beds.    I also have some new plants in mind to buy.

I want a really wild, mixed garden.   Some probably won't come up so I am over sowing the flower beds I have.  Hoping to get plenty of butterfly weed so the monarch's will come back this fall.  

Gardens start early here in the South.    I am trying to get my stuff together so I can be planting soon!   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.