Tan Hill

What a great way of getting away from it all ... I drove to my friend’s and joined her and her husband for a little recce adventure to check this spot out before her son plays here with his band in a few weeks time. I’ve wanted to visit for a long time. It was fantastically wild, remote and bleak. We had a walk along the Pennine Way and were wind and rain blasted before we retreated for a pint and some lunch drying out by one of the fires. What a smashing spot with a great atmosphere. It exceeded my expectations because I think I had suspected it might as be as hideously cold and tacky as the Kirkstone Inn but it couldn’t have been more different, full of a sense of place and history and a lovely cosy retreat from the world.
The main blip gives no idea of how wild and wet it was ... the extras give a hint.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.